Who will you be voting for?

On Wednesday, March 15th, 2023, you get to vote for one of the board members of Delfland Water Authority. Meaning: for one of the 26 representatives in our board of directors.

Before the elections, you can discover through campaigns what the various (local) political parties represent. The following 12 parties are participating in the water board elections in Delfland:

  • VVD (People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy)
  • AWP for water, climate and nature
  • Water Natuurlijk (Natural Water)
  • PvdA (Labour Party)
  • Partij voor de Dieren (Party for the Animals)
  • CDA (Christian Democratic Appeal)
  • 50PLUS
  • ChristenUnie-SGP (Christian Union SGP)
  • JA21
  • BBB (Farmer-Citizen Movement)
  • Belang van Nederland (BVNL) (Interest of the Netherlands)

Which parties have signed up?

On January 30th, 2023, 12 parties submitted their lists of candidates. On January 31st, 2023, the Central Electoral Committee of the Delfland Water Authority studied the lists of candidates. No omissions have been identified. This means that the lists meet all requirements. The official report, the lists of candidates and the statements of support are available for inspection at the Central Elections Office in the Gemeenlandshuis, Phoenixstraat 32 in Delft. The official report can also be viewed here on our website:

Proces-verbaal van het onderzoek naar de kandidatenlijsten, Centraal Stembureau Hoogheemraadschap van Delfland, 31 januari 2023. (pdf, 79 kB)

Secured seats

Our general board also has four so-called 'secured' seats. These seats are intended for representatives of farmers and nature reserve managers. You cannot vote for those candidates: they are designated by the umbrella organisations known as LTO (farmers) and the VBNE (Association of Forest and Nature Owners). They represent a specific interest. The board of the Delfland Water Authority has a total of 30 seats.

Delfland’s executive board

Delfland Water Authority has a general and an executive board.  We refer to the general board as the joint board. The executive board is formed by the dike warden and four water authorities. It represents the interests of residents, as well as farmers, nature, and the business community in the Delfland area.